Monday, March 05, 2007

Parliamentary motions on FOI fees proposals

An Early Day Motion calling on the government not to proceed with its FOI fees proposals has been signed by over 100 MPs.

The all-party motion has been sponsored by Tony Wright (Lab), Alan Beith (Lib Dem), Dominic Grieve (Con), Richard Shepherd (Con), Mark Fisher (Lab) and Simon Hughes (Lib Dem).

The text of the motion states:
"That this House expresses concern that the proposed new fees regulations under the Freedom of Information Act would allow authorities to refuse on cost grounds a high proportion of requests which they are currently required to answer; notes that the Government's consultation document recognises that this will have a greater impact on journalists, hon. Members, campaign groups and researchers than on private individuals; considers that such changes would undermine the Act's contribution to increased discussion of public affairs, accountability and trust in the work of public authorities; and calls on the Government not to proceed with the proposals."
An up to date list of MPs that have signed is available on the Campaign for Freedom of Information's website. The Campaign is encouraging people to ask their MPs to sign EDM 845 on Freedom of Information by writing to them at the House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA or by using

An equivalent motion (known as a 'Statement of Opinion') was raised in the Welsh Assembly last week by Assembly Member Leanne Wood. Anyone who wants to encourage their AM to support it should ask them to suscribe to Opinion 2007- 0020 on Freedom of Information.

No comments: